What’s It Like To Have LASIK…. An Insider’s Experience!

See that girl on the right side of the picture below? Wait……..you can’t really see her that well can you.

homewood

Well, that’s me, and that picture is pretty close to what it feels like to be nearsighted (aka blind at a distance.)

OK, that is almost what it’s like. It’s much more like someone smudged Vaseline all over my eyes.  You get the idea. My world without contacts or glasses is pretty blurry, unless I’m holding something  right up to my face.

Maybe this is better….

homewood

Much better!! Like I said,  that’s me (Lesli), and that is how I like to wear my glasses. I ONLY want them to be stylin’ sunglasses that are either on my head holding my hair back or protecting my eyes from the sun. With the aid of my contact lenses, that had never been a problem, but sometimes that just was not good enough…

As you can see from the picture above, I work at an eye care practice with wonderful doctors and staff. On a daily basis I witness our doctors helping patients to see their world with crystal clear vision. In many cases, they receive a life without contact or glasses. This is especially true for those who come in to have laser vision correction, also known as LASIK. I stand in awe on a weekly basis as I see those transformations. I’m not kidding. I get to see the ACTUAL change that takes place in those patients because I assist in LASIK surgery. To this day, I have never stopped being amazed by the process of it all.  I also must admit that I never stopped being slightly jealous of those patients as they ditched their contacts or glasses.

I know you’re thinking…. “Well, why don’t you have LASIK?”

I just did. I had LASIK with the wonderful Dr. Kloess!

So, if you’ve ever wondered what it is like to have laser vision correction, this is your opportunity! I’m giving you my unique perspective as I become the patient.  After all, how many people do you know get to be on both sides of the laser?

In the next couple of weeks, I’ll detail my experience through the process of having LASIK surgery. I’ll tell you the why, the what, and more importantly the feeling of the whole experience. Please join me, and I’m sure I’ll answer some questions you may have, and some that you may not have even thought of.  I hope you visit the page in a few days to see how my  journey started. If you have friends who might be interested, please share this with them as well!

Lesli

 

Leave a Reply

